Friday, May 04, 2007

bargrooves: espace prive v.9

bargrooves: espace prive v.9

This album distils the essence of the world’s best bar soundsystems into the perfect aural cocktail, to be consumed at leisure in your own private space. This is house music with a distinctly French feel – top tracks come from the Soldiers of Twilight, Norm Talley, and Astro’s ‘In the Moonlight’ which is completely exclusive to this album.--“Perfect for urbane barflies” Elle Decoration--The follow up to al fresco, and the second in the new bargrooves quartet of ‘spaces in special places’, the espace privé collection doesn’t disappoint. This time, label boss Ben Sowton teams up with French DJ, scribe and editor of Cod@ Magazine (France’s dance music bible), Frédéric Messent. Whilst each CD has a definitively individual feel, the two selections are united in their dedication to deep house music of the highest quality. All the usual suspects are present and correct: Om, Circulation, Serial, King St, and Guidance, rubbing shoulders with some lesser-known gems such as Norm Talley’s sublime ‘Change’ and Eres’ ‘Venga Bailar’ – a slice of balearic sophistication which perfectly reflects the spirit of the launch party for this album, to be held at Warhol in Ibiza Town. Another stand out track on this collection is Astro’s ‘In The Moonlight’, which appears here completely exclusively.

Disc 1

1. City People (petalpusher dub) : Miguel Migs
2. Drive On (David Duriez Plastic Music Remix) : The Soldiers of Twilight
3. Music for the People (Vincent Kwok’s Moody Funk re : KhaiMar
4. Venga Bailar (Soleil Vert remix) : Eres
5. Definition of Dub : Physics
6. Natural Part 2 (Halo & Andre Harris dub mix) : Afro Mystik
7. In the Moonlight : Astro
8. Copy-cat : Bod
9. The Electronik Boogie : Shik Stylkö
10. Round Again (vocal mix) : Positively Lovely
11. Mauve : Circulation

Disc 2

1. Change (Mike Huckaby remix) : Norman Talley
2. Tribute (The Session) : Jazzflight Unlimited
3. You Know (extended mix) : Herald feat. Gee
4. Samba de Ile (Belladonna e Duranti remix) : Banda Favela
5. Ghetto Gospel Man : 2 or More feat. Euclid Gray
6. My Paradise (6:23 mix) : Kerri Chandler
7. Never (instrumental) : Kupper / Campbell Project
8. Inner Peace : Nigel Richards
9. Second Wind (club dub) : Rise Ashen
10. Trying (Butti 49 Nu Niveau remix) : Nuspirit Helsinki
11. Happy People (Knee Deep’s to LB dub) : Kathy Brown

Part1 | Part2 | Part3 | Part4

Pass if need: